PDA

Archiv verlassen und diese Seite im Standarddesign anzeigen : Grub Error 15



hermann4
26.04.2008, 12:58
Hallo,

ich habe hier eine 160GB S-ATA Platte und eine 40GB IDE Platte. Arch wollte ich auf die 160GB Platte installieren, die unter /dev/sdb zu finden ist. Wenn ich jetzt bei der Installation von Arch Grub auf /dev/sdb installiere, bekomme ich nur ein Grub Error 15 beim Neustart.
Soll ich Grub gleich in die Bootpartition installieren?

Mfg
hermann4

juan_
26.04.2008, 13:01
4. Grub Error 15

Situation

This error can occur in two different stages of the GRUB configuration, either during the initial configuration (installing GRUB in the master boot record) or after booting the system and attempting to launch Linux (or any other entry).

Code Listing 4.1: Grub Output - Initial Configuration

grub> root (hd0,0)
Filesystem type is xfs, partition type 0x83

grub> setup (hd0)
Checking if "/boot/grub/stage1" exists... no
Checking if "/grub/stage1" exists... no

Error 15: File not found

Code Listing 4.2: Grub Output - Booting an Entry

Booting 'gentoo Linux'

root (hd0,0)
Filesystem type is ext2fs, partition type 0x83
kernel (hd0,0)/boot/kernel-2.4.20 root=/dev/hda3 vga=792

Error 15: File not found
Press any key to continue...

Solution - Initial Configuration

This error is returned if the specified file name cannot be found, but everything else (like the disk/partition info) is OK.

Frequently, the error notes a missing kernel image file. Make sure that the file it is referring to exists on your boot partition.

To find out the exact name of your kernel, boot from the installation cd, mount your root and (if applicable) boot partition. Next, chroot into your Gentoo system and do a listing of the available files to see what kernel images you have available:

Code Listing 4.3: Verifying kernel image existence

# cd /boot
# ls

This will list all the kernels that you've got on your boot partition. If your kernel is missing make sure that you compiled a kernel (using genkernel or manually):

Code Listing 4.4: Recompile the kernel

# cd /usr/src/linux/
# make menuconfig
# make

And that you copied it to your boot partition:

Code Listing 4.5: Copying the kernel

# cp /usr/src/linux/arch/i386/boot/bzImage /boot

Verify that the name of the kernel is exactly the same as the one mentioned in your grub.conf file. Also make sure that the kernel line in your grub.conf file is referring to that partition (either explicitly or implicitly).

Another reported mistake is to have the BIOS ignore the disk on which the kernel or grub stages reside. Also, the partition on which grub stores its stages should not use a software RAID-5 (or other striping technology) configuration.

Solution - Booting an Entry

First, verify that the root and setup lines you have used are correct.

If you are certain they are valid, then you might be using a flawed GRUB version (0.93.20031222). Upgrade your Portage tree or mask this version of grub:

Code Listing 4.6: Masking Grub

(Execute this from within the chrooted environment)
# echo "=sys-boot/grub-0.93.20031222" >> /etc/portage/package.mask
# emerge grub -p

You could also try to use the grub-install script as is recommended by the GRUB authors:

Code Listing 4.7: Using grub-install

(The --root-directory is needed if you are using a separate boot
partition,
otherwise you should leave it out)
# grub-install --root-directory=/boot /dev/hda

When all this fails, your boot partition may be corrupt. Check the partition for errors:

Code Listing 4.8: Checking a partition for errors

(Make sure the boot partition, /dev/hda1 in this case, is unmounted)
# fsck -y /dev/hda1



hoffe geholfen zu haben.

ciao

hermann4
26.04.2008, 13:20
Danke für die Antwort! Als ich nochmal die Arch Setup CD gebootet habe und die Systempartition gemountet habe, war zu meiner Verwunderung der /boot Ordner komplett leer, also auch keine menu.lst o.ä.
Ist das normal bei Arch?

Rain_Maker
26.04.2008, 13:23
Natürlich, Arch ist so schnell und 1337, daß es sogar ohne Kernel bootet, weil bis der geladen wäre, ist das System ohne Kernel schon längst oben...

Und die ganzen anderen, unnützen Dateien wie initrd, menu.lst & Co. sind eh nur was für Weicheier, Sitzpinkler und Schattenparker ...

Echte Kerle booten Arch ohne Kernel.

(Dumme Frage, Dumme Antwort)

hermann4
26.04.2008, 14:12
Natürlich, Arch ist so schnell und 1337, daß es sogar ohne Kernel bootet, weil bis der geladen wäre, ist das System ohne Kernel schon längst oben...

Und die ganzen anderen, unnützen Dateien wie initrd, menu.lst & Co. sind eh nur was für Weicheier, Sitzpinkler und Schattenparker ...

Echte Kerle booten Arch ohne Kernel.

(Dumme Frage, Dumme Antwort)

Hätte ja sein können, das man den Kernel bei Arch immer nach der Installation noch mal selber backen muss

Rvg
29.04.2008, 21:05
wenn du nen fehler bekommst, das in glibc und perl jeweils ein CHANGELOG vorhanden ist, und er deswegen nichts installiert:
andere konsole gehen und dort mit
pacman --root /mnt -Sf glibc perl
ihn hoeflich ueberreden; dann halt die restlichen pakete wieder ueber den installer, der aktualisiert dann auch den kernel

das problem hatte ich letztens auch, und bin nach "vollendeter" installation (dachte ich) in den schicken E15 gerannt.. aber genug ot